Concert Review: The New Regime

Date: April 15 and 16, 2016
Location: House of Blues, Dallas, TX

A few weeks ago, Travis and I ventured our way up I-45 North to see the The Used (a review for this concert will be posted soon). We had no clue who the opening band was, but we were not disappointed with their performance. The New Regime is a solo project by Ilan Rubin, who at only 27 years old, has drummed for prestigious bands such as Lostprophets, Nine Inch Nails, Angels & Airwaves, and Paramore. In this band, however, he plays guitar and is the lead singer. The setlist is as follows (forgive me if I left any out):

“Say What You Will”FullSizeRender (3)
This song opened up with a catchy enough guitar riff to bob your head to. Then the chorus hits you with powerful, high vocals. I’m not sure if it was the acoustics of the HOB, but it was somewhat difficult to hear what he was singing. However, with the right sound engineering, it would’ve been an even better audio experience. Rubin then greeted the audience and mentioned how the band was super appreciative of everyone there early enough to listen to them.

“No Traces”
This was a “heavier” song, according to Rubin. I could definitely identify the use of bass. There was more movement on stage during this track, like a slow dance during the smooth, 70’s guitar riff, then a power stance-esque waltz into the heavier, longer solo. Travis looked at me and nodded his head in approval.

“Don’t Chase It”
The “electronic” vibe was evident, as Rubin and the bass player were also playing synth pads. A dark, 80s vibe pieced with a 90’s guitar flow made this song one of the most interesting and favorites of the night.

“Live In Fear”
FullSizeRender (2)
“Haunt My Mind”
Beginning with a subtle synthetic beat, similar to a heartbeat, and calm singing, this song also caught my attention. The chorus is opposite to the verses, busting in with those same powerful vocals.

“We Rise, We Fall”
A fast paced guitar intro that lead into very funkadelic rhythm had me engaged. I kept thinking that the vibe somewhat reminded me of a “Ballroom Blitz”. I was moving in my seat by tapping my feet, shaking my body side to side, nodding my head, and clapping.
This song had the most energy, as evident from the reactions within the audience in addition to the way the band was playing. All in all, it was an incredible track to end the set with.

Overall, the band has something for everybody. The influences of Rubin (Led Zeppelin, Depeche Mode, Muse, NIN, etc.) are faint, yet apparent within the music. The band is able to bounce off of those 80’s and 90’s vibes and sounds, make them into their own, and give the modern era something worth listening to. You can check out The New Regime here! Happy listening!

Leave a Reply

